Which are the Irish counties on the Wild Atlantic Way?

[We may get commissions for purchases made through links in this post. For more information go to Privacy Policy & Disclosure.]

The Wild Atlantic Way (or WAW) is a 2,600-27,00km route, developed by Fáilte Ireland, which travels along the rugged West Coast of Ireland. The WAW takes you through 9 counties on the Wild Atlantic Way out of the 32 counties on the Island of Ireland.

Wild Atlantic Way Counties

The following Irish counties are directly on the Wild Atlantic Way route (North to South). Click on the links to visit that county.

  1. Donegal
  2. Leitrim
  3. Sligo
  4. Mayo
  5. Galway
  6. Clare
  7. Limerick
  8. Kerry
  9. Cork

These counties are all in the Republic of Ireland and are part of the provinces of Ulster, Connaught and Munster.

You can see where the counties are in relation to each other below:

Map of Wild Atlantic Way Counties

tour wild atlantic way, map of wild atlantic way, map of wild atlantic way ireland, wild atlantic way tour, wild atlantic way ireland map, map of the wild atlantic way, wild atlantic way road trip, map wild atlantic way, wild atlantic way route planner, wild atlantic way map, the wild atlantic way map, wild atlantic way routes, the wild atlantic way route, wild atlantic way route google maps, wild atlantic way route google maps
The counties along the Wild Atlantic Way

All the counties have their own charm and a variety of things to see and do along the way. Do not think you can see it all in a week. You will need to do several trips or indeed have at least 3-4 weeks to see everything.

This site also has a few routes close to but a small detour away from the Wild Atlantic Way which are also worth visiting.

An example of one of the sites to visit shown on my routes that is a small detour from the WAW.

kylemore abbey galway
Kylemore Abbey, co. Galway

The Wild Atlantic Way route map looks like this:

Wild Atlantic Way Google Maps

Zoom in to see more detail.

This site has a full description of the routes through the different counties with information about all the points of interest aa well as the Discovery Points and Signature Points along the way.

Go to the ROUTES page to find the link to the blog post on each county and download the relevant route you need to your phone or tablet or explore the places to visit.

The Causeway Coastal Route

Northern Ireland (which is part of the UK) has 6 counties. Northern Ireland has the Causeway Coastal Route along the Northern part of the Island that follows the coast from Derry to Belfast.

The Causeway Coastal Route is not part of the Wild Atlantic Way, and is much shorter.

But the Causeway Coastal Route does cover some nice scenery and passes memorable places such as the Giant’s Causeway, the rope bridge at Carrick-a-Rede, the Dark Hedges and Portrush Beach, amongst others.

I have now added this route to this site. Remember this is located in the UK so the signs are different as well as the currency (British Pounds instead of Euros), You can find the route here: Causeway Coastal Route.

Last Updated on June 13, 2024 by Gav

waw logo new

Disclaimer: explorewaw.com may participate in various affiliate programs. This means that we may get paid if you click on links that lead you to other sites selling goods or services.